Defenders of the Earth

Defenders of the Earth

Sep. 08, 1986
Duration: 30 min/episode
Rated: TV-Y7
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1Sep. 08, 1986


Defenders of the Earth is an American animated television series produced in 1986, featuring characters from three comic strips distributed by King Features Syndicate—Flash Gordon, The Phantom, and Mandrake the Magician—opposing Ming the Merciless in the year 2015. Supporting characters include their children Rick Gordon, Jedda Walker, Kshin, Mandrake's assistant Lothar, and Lothar's son L.J. The show lasted for 65 episodes; there was also a short-lived comic book series published by Star Comics, created by Gerry Conway, Ross Andru and John Romita, Sr.. The closing credits credit Rob Walsh and Tony Pastor for the main title music, and Stan Lee for the lyrics. The series was later shown in reruns on the Sci Fi Channel as part of Sci Fi Cartoon Quest.

Original titleDefenders of the Earth
First air dateSep. 08, 1986
Last air dateDec. 05, 1986
IMDb Rating7.01 535 votes
TMDb Rating7.75774 votes

Similar titles

The Winchesters
Get Rolling With Otis
Puppy Place
RESIDENT EVIL: Infinite Darkness
The Rookie: Feds
Chainsaw Man
Vinland Saga
The Family Man