Princess Ja Myung

Princess Ja Myung

Mar. 10, 2009
Duration: 70 min/episode
Rated: N/A
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

1Season 1Mar. 10, 2009


Jung Ryeo-won
Princess Ja-myung
Jung Kyung-ho
Prince Hodong
Yeo Jin-goo
Hodong (young)
Jin Ji-hee
Ra-hee (young)
Moon Sung-keun
King Daemusin
Lee Mi-sook
Wang Ja-shil


Ja Myung Go is a 2009 South Korean historical drama starring Jung Ryeo-won, Park Min-young and Jung Kyung-ho. It aired on SBS from March 9 to July 21, 2009 on Mondays and Tuesdays at 21:55 for 39 episodes. It is based on the Korean folk tale Prince Hodong and the Princess of Nakrang, which touches the story of the failed Nakrang Kingdom. According to the tale, there was a famous drum called the jamyeonggo, literally "the drum that beats by itself," that possessed the mysterious power to automatically sound an alarm whenever enemies would invade its kingdom. The self-sounding drum caused neighboring nations, including the warrior state of Goguryeo, to hesitate about attacking Nakrang. A prince of Goguryeo named Hodong infiltrated Nakrang with the mission of destroying the drum. But the prince unexpectedly fell in love with the princess of Nakrang. For her love, the princess eventually chose to tear off the drum to betray her country. As a result, her nation fell into ruin and she was killed. Prince Hodong mourned over her death, holding her body. The drama series, however, gives a new twist in that the drum is in fact a person, embodied by Ja-myung, the hidden sister of the Nakrang Kingdom's princess. Growing up as the princess of Nakrang, Ra-hee is adored by her people, while Ja-myung survives a murder attempt and lives as a commoner. Prince Hodong, from Nakrang's enemy, the Goguryeo Kingdom, is torn between two nations and two women, and must make a choice between love and responsibility.

Original title자명고
First air dateMar. 10, 2009
Last air dateJul. 21, 2009
IMDb Rating7.5151 votes
TMDb Rating6.23 votes

Similar titles

The Peripheral
Biff and Chip
Interview with the Vampire
Alaska Daily
Secrets of Summer
Everything Calls for Salvation
The Brave Ones
Reasonable Doubt
Bachelor in Paradise Canada
The Empress
The Winchesters
The Rookie: Feds